The preacher

A preacher is a dead man
consumed by the Word of God.

There are no good nor are there bad preachers. Only an emptied preacher filled with the Word of God; he hears God speak and releases regardless the circumstances – in obedience – God’s message to the people.

O LORD, You have deceived me and I was deceived; You have overcome me and prevailed.
I have become a laughingstock all day long; Everyone mocks me.
For each time I speak, I cry aloud; I proclaim violence and destruction, Because for me the word of the LORD has resulted In reproach and derision all day long.
But if I say, “I will not remember Him Or speak anymore in His name,”
Then in my heart it becomes like a burning fire Shut up in my bones;
And I am weary of holding it in, And I cannot endure it.

Jeremiah 20:7-9 NASB

A preacher is not a good communicator nor is he an excellent theologian, but one who hears God; by God’s grace and not by anything the preacher has done. He was chosen despite his worthlessness and incapability. The weight of God’s truth within him is causing a great conflict and distress in his heart as he sees the reality of this world collide with the reality of God’s words.

Now while Paul was waiting for them at Athens, his spirit was being provoked within him as he was observing the city full of idols.

Acts 17:16 NASB

A preacher is nothing but a vessel wherein God pours into him the power of His Word – the power of the Gospel. To contain those very words would be ludicrous and dangerous.

For if I preach the gospel, I have nothing to boast of,
for I am under compulsion;
for woe is me if I do not preach the gospel.

1 Corinthians 9:16 NASB

Preachers preach. They don’t have to communicate well, debate intelligently, discuss vigorously or argue extensively. Simple as it is:

A preacher receives the command from God what and when to preach; and executes. Anything outside of that becomes man-made and superficial; instead of supernatural.

For indeed Jews ask for signs and Greeks search for wisdom;
but we preach Christ crucified,
to Jews a stumbling block and to Gentiles foolishness,
but to those who are the called, both Jews and Greeks,
Christ the power of God and the wisdom of God.

(1 Corinthians 1:22-24 NASB)

Let there be preachers who would preach in the power and wisdom of God rather than relying on their own strengths.

Leave a Reply

