Losing my religion

If any man’s work which he has built on it remains, he will receive a reward.
If any man’s work is burned up, he will suffer loss; but he himself will be saved, yet so as through fire.
(1 Corinthians 3:14-15 NASB)

I’m fed up of a mediocre Christian life where we just enjoy the fruits of God’s goodness.

At this point, it’s not about salvation anymore nor is it about earning God’s love. Once you’re truly saved, sooner or later, especially when you’ve been abundantly covered by His blessings, there should rise up in us an urge to give God our very best (Php. 2:12). If anything, it’s because we’ve received God’s very best already 2,000 years ago (Joh. 3:16).

I look at my life… A wonderful family and everything else I need and much, much more. I’m overwhelmed and think, how can it be? I don’t deserve any of this and yet, in His sovereignty He gave His best for what? My bare minimum in return?

It has nothing to do with performing for His acceptance or love, but it has everything to do with experiencing that undeserved grace and love that should trigger something deep inside us to give Him our all – our very best.

Since, I see more clearly, there’s a new fear in my heart now. A healthy fear…

It’s not losing my salvation nor is it being deceived by the lies of this world anymore. Now, I fear coming before the throne of God emptyhanded or with very little;
for all He did, where is the expression of my gratitude?

Do I take His gift of salvation like a piece of cake and just say, “Thank you.”?

Or do I really grasp the true value of His blood in exchange for my worthless, doomed and wretched life and realize He is worthy only of my very best in everything I am, have and do?

Leave a Reply

