Revenge No More

I loved revenge movies. Mostly people who have been hurt badly and those with a strong sense of justice do make perfect revenge-hungry candidates.

But after tonight, for me, that’s over. I’ve enjoyed my last such movie. In this story, a man killed off all the criminals responsible for the death of his parents. It was when I saw him instilling fear into the hearts of those men who cold-bloodedly murdered those he loved that I realized something profound. It was finally clear to me that whatever kind of torture or murder was done to the worst criminals of this world, it would never be comparable to what punishment they’d receive on the other side.

I remembered the words of Jesus Christ:

“Do not fear those who kill the body but are unable to kill the soul;
but rather fear Him who is able to destroy both soul and body in hell.
(Matthew 10:28 NASB)

And that’s where it dawned on me. The only thing I should ever feel for anyone, who is committing even the most horrific of all crimes towards me or anyone else, should be concern, compassion and pity. Understanding hell and its eternal effects on someone’s soul should drive me on my knees to intercede for those who do not know what they’re doing (we’ve all been there).

Those believers who still insist on a personal vendetta are just wasting a lot of energy and probably ignoring God’s very clear message for His people to stand back:

Never take your own revenge, beloved,
but leave room for the wrath of God,
for it is written,
VENGEANCE IS MINE, I WILL REPAY,”
says the Lord.
(Romans 12:19 NASB)

Take God at His Word. It never fails…

“BUT IF YOUR ENEMY IS HUNGRY,
FEED HIM,
AND IF HE IS THIRSTY,
GIVE HIM A DRINK;
FOR IN SO DOING
YOU WILL HEAP BURNING COALS ON HIS HEAD.”
Do not be overcome by evil,
but overcome evil with good.
(Romans 12:20-21 NASB)

Leave a Reply

